Skincare Sage | My Skincare Routine

I received a really flattering text a couple of weeks ago from my dear friend L.  She, like me, is approaching 30 this year, and her New Year’s resolution was to start taking better care of her skin, and I was honored that she appointed me her “beauty guru.”  I have to say, I get complimented on my skin a lot.  When meeting me, most people (and not just drunk guys in bars trying to get into my panties) put me at 24-25, not at almost 30. Just last night I had to pull out my license to prove to someone I was, in fact, born in ’83.  As a result, I’m a bit vain about my skin and am willing to splurge on products that work.  Here’s what I use on a regular basis:

my-skincare-routine

1  /  2  /  3  /  4  /  5  /  6  /  7  /  8  /  9

1    CLEANSER   AcneFree Oil Free Acne Cleanser    I have combination skin and pores that love to clog.   For some reason, my skin doesn’t respond to the salicylic acid found in most anti-acne cleansers, and a key ingredient in AcneFree is benzoyl peroxide, which really works.  The cleanser is a bit drying in the winter, but as long as I use a noncomedogenic moisturizer, it’s all good.

2   EYE CREAM   Arcona’s Eye Dew   This is BY FAR the best eye cream I’ve ever used.  Incredibly moisturizing, it prevents the deepening of fine lines and contains hyaluronic acid, anti-inflammatory blueberry extract, vitamin E, shea butter and essential fatty acids.  LOVE LOVE LOVE.

3   TONER   Andalou Naturals Blossom and Leaf Toning Refresher   In his book The Water Secret, Dr. Murad explains the importance of a good toner far better than I ever could.  Bottom line, this toner is super refreshing.

4  MOISTURIZER   John Masters Organics Rose and Apricot Antioxidant Day Cream   I’ve yet to find a daily moisturizer I really love, so I’m a few days in to trying this one.  I’ll report back when it’s gone as to how I like it.  What attracted me to this particular day cream was this product description from the website:  “This light yet potent formula is infused with apricot oil and peach & rice extract to help reduce wrinkles and promote cellular turnover. High in omega-6, this creme hydrates and protects the skin against harmful bacteria, while oat kernel extract stimulates pro-collagen production resulting in soft, healthy skin.”

5  & 6    NIGHT TREATMENT    Dermalogica was one of the vendors present at the Save a Child’s Heart fundraiser I photographed back in December, and I left with a sweet gift bag that contained deluxe samples of the Overnight Repair Serum and the Super Rich Repair Lotion.  I’ve used them a few times (only once or twice a week, since I do have combination skin) and I’m a fan.   The serum helps to reduce fine lines and increase luminosity, and the lotion is for chronically dry skin and is incredibly rich.  The lotion is a bit too rich for me, so I can’t imagine purchasing it, but the serum is definitely on my radar when my current serum runs out.

OR

7 NIGHT TREATMENT  Clarins Multi-Active Night Youth Recovery Cream for Normal to Combination Skin    I got a sample of this from Sephora a few months ago, and the three nights I used it, my skin looked PHENOMENAL in the morning.  When my current night moisturizer runs out, I’m investing in this.

8  WEEKLY MASK  Boscia Luminizing Black Mask   I’ve already sung the praises of this mask.  It’s amazing.  Don’t get it on your eyebrows.  Just trust me on this one.

9  EXFOLIANT  The Body Shop’s Vitamin C Microdermabrasion Treatment   Chock full of vitamin C, the garnet particles in this exfoliating treatment are super fine and leave my skin so so smooth.

One thought on “Skincare Sage | My Skincare Routine

  1. Pingback: Sunday Style: April Empties | wine and a book

Leave a Reply

