My Most Anticipated of 2013

Each January, The Millions publishes a list of what new literary releases they’re most looking forward to reading in the coming year.  Here are my picks from their lengthy list, plus one more:

My-most-anticipated-of-2013

1  /  2  /  3  /  4  /  5  /  6

1   Red Doc >  by Anne Carson    I LOVE ANNE CARSON.  I do not have the words to adequately express my deep admiration and profound respect for Anne Carson’s work.  The Autobiography of Red is on the shortlist of my favorite books ever, and Red Doc > picks up where that story left off.  And it’s being released March 5th,  in time for my birthday.  The universe must love me.

2   Artful by Ali Smith    This past year, I read There But For The, and it was this description on Goodreads that piqued my interest:

“Adapted from four lectures given by Ali Smith at Oxford University, Artful is a tidal wave of ideas in four thematically organised bursts of thought: ‘On Time’, ‘On Form’, ‘On Edge’ and ‘On Offer and On Reflection’.

Refusing to be tied down to either fiction or the essay form, Artful is narrated by a character who is haunted – literally – by a former lover, the writer of a series of lectures about art and literature. Full of both the poignancy and humour of fiction and all the sideways insights and jaunty angles you would expect from Ali Smith’s criticism, it explores form, style, life, love, death, mortality, immortality and what art and writing can mean.”

3    You are One of Them by Elliott Holt    The Million’s list was the first time I heard about Pushcart Prize-winner Elliott Holt, and the novel’s description is compelling (via The Millions)

“Holt’s debut is a literary suspense novel spanning years, as a young woman, raised in politically charged Washington D.C. of the 1980s, goes to Moscow to investigate the decades-old death of her childhood friend.”

I’ll definitely be keeping an eye out for this in May.

4   Going Clear: Scientology,  Hollywood and the Prison of Belief by Lawrence Wright         Scientology fascinates me.  The more I learn about it, the less I can wrap my mind around how this is a thing.

5  The Tragedy of Mr. Morn by Vladmir Nabokov     A newly translated play from the early literary career of Nabokov?  YES, PLEASE!!! Also due out in March.

6   The Complete Stories of Truman Capote     Few writers have the versatility of Capote.  Take In Cold Blood and Breakfast at Tiffany’s.  Starkly different pieces.  Both brilliant.  I’m excited to see if this is true of the collection as well.

Leave a Reply

