REVIEW | Two Hair Thickening Treatments that ACTUALLY WORK!

Over the past six months or so, I have been on a quest for lush, full, thick hair.  I’ve been dying my hair fairly regularly since college, and all those chemicals have been taking a toll on my scalp…and that toll manifests itself as hair in my drain post-shower. No bueno.  So I’ve been looking for a treatment that will not only improve the health of my poor follicles, but slow down the mass exodus that seems to be taking place on my scalp, and these are hands down the best two thickening treatments I’ve come across:

two-hair-thickening-treaments-that-actually-work

2  Pantene Expert Collection Age Defy Advanced Thickening Treatment    ($19-ish @ drug stores)    Now, I usually give Pantene hair products a wide berth.  Several years ago, I was advised by a hair stylist that Pantene products have a tendency to leave a filmy build-up on the hair, which weighs it down.  Ick.  BUT after reading the glowing write-up Pantene’s new Age Defy Advanced Thickening Treatment received in Allure’s October 2012 Best of Beauty issue, I decided to keep an open mind and give it a try.  I’m glad I did!  The product works like this:  you spray it onto your post-shower damp hair right at the roots, covering your scalp, and gently massage it around to evenly distribute it.  Then add your normal products and style as usual.  While I had the product on, I did notice that my hair looked and felt a lot thicker at the roots.  The only drawback: that thickness doesn’t last after shampooing/conditioning the hair.  It was intended to, according to the article in Allure.  The combination of caffeine, niacinamide and panthenol are supposed to penetrate the cuticle and actually strengthen the hair from the inside (though if you read the fine print on the commercial, it does say “thickens existing strands”).   I used it for two months, and I didn’t notice that my hair coming in was that much thicker or in that much better shape…BUT, that said, it worked great as a hair styling primer, if you will; a product I used to get my hair ready to receive the products I regularly use.  Combined with volumizing spray, my hair was looking AWESOME.

Recently, though, I’ve been using…

1   John Masters Organics Deep Scalp Follicle Treatment & Volumizer for Thinning Hair   ($21 online or at Whole Food’s Whole Beauty)   I LOVE JOHN MASTERS ORGANICS.  Every single product of theirs I’ve tried has been above and beyond AMAZING.  Their Deep Scalp Follicle Treatment & Volumizer for Thinning Hair is a true treatment, and focuses on scalp health, containing ingredients such as arnica and thyme, which stimulate and heal the scalp.  Applied the same way as Pantene’s product, this is a spray that you apply to wet hair post-shower directly at the roots.  Unlike Pantene, it’s a liquid, not a gel, and a little goes a long way.  I’ve been using it for about a month now, after reading Taylor of My Lucite Dreams and Celina of By Celina rave about it (who both have GORGEOUS hair, btw), and I swear, whether it’s in or not, my ponytail feels thicker.  And I’m LOVING that it contains 17 certified organic herbs and essential oils. This is quickly becoming a staple of my beauty routine.  LOVE. LOVE. LOVE.

2 thoughts on “REVIEW | Two Hair Thickening Treatments that ACTUALLY WORK!

  1. Pingback: Sunday Style: hair hero: Prime Style Extender by Living Proof | wine and a book

  2. Pingback: Sunday Style: April Empties | wine and a book

Leave a Reply

