The Link List

Links to pieces, old and new, on literature:

  • One of my all-time favorite books, Salman Rushdie’s Midnight’s Children, is now a movie!!!  And it opens Friday!!!  And Rushdie was the one who adapted it for the screen!!!   Just!!!
  • Liberty Hardy (who you may recognize from her contributions to Book Riot) wants to be your personal library curator/go-to new-reading-material provider.  Here’s how her new venture, Paperback to the Future, works: Liberty asks you a series of questions about your reading preferences, and each month (for a fee), sends you a book that there’s a 90% chance you’ve never even heard of, and that they’re pretty sure you’ll love.  WHY.DIDN’T.I.THINK.OF.THIS???  Brilliant!
  • What was the first piece of fiction you read that had an impact on you?” “Are You My Mother?, undoubtedly. I recently read Maniac Magee and was undone.”  10 under 10: Writers to Watch over at The American Reader CRACKED MY ISH UP!  Truly remarkable satire.  Maybe I appreciate it more because I work in children’s publishing. Regardless, an excerpt:

“What was the inspiration for the piece included in the “10 Under 10” series?

“My Driveway” was really tied to the advice to “Write what you know.” I knew that I could write the best piece of fiction about what I was deeply familiar with. I think that’s what gave the book that deep sense of intimacy, especially the now-infamous gravel scene. I find it helpful to limit myself to a subject or an area and work within those boundaries. It’s too hard to just sit down and say, “I want to write about Teaneck.”  It’s just too broad a subject. Imposing those limits, from the garage door to the end of the curb, is what inspired the novel and allowed it to function. In the end, the fact that I’m not allowed to cross the street by myself turned out to be completely inspirational.

What are you working on now?

It’s called “My Street.” I’m not ready to talk about it yet.”

Strand-bookstore-blackandwhite

Leave a Reply

