Saturday Style: The 7-minute Workout Challenge

In the May 12th edition of the New York Times Magazine, Gretchen Reynolds discusses an article that originally appeared in the  May-June issue of the American College of Sports Medicine’s Health & Fitness Journal.  According to the study,

“[i]n 12 exercises deploying only body weight, a chair and a wall, it fulfills the latest mandates for high-intensity effort, which essentially combines a long run and a visit to the weight room into about seven minutes of steady discomfort.”

If this works, this could be awesome!  (And why wouldn’t it?  IT’S SCIENCE!) Check out the article for Reynolds’ concise, easy-to-understand summary of the study and why this is supposed to work.

I have been STRUGGLING to find a time to work fitness into my daily life.  Balancing my work responsibilities with my blogging/writing/photography…I’m running out of hours in the day and developing a serious case of what I call “writer’s body.”  Lots of sitting doesn’t count as cardio…and  I love yoga, but 7 minutes of yoga isn’t really going to have the same impact as this program should.

So I’ve decided to do this 12-move-7-minute workout every day for a month, and report back on how it goes.  I have the personal fitness level that lies somewhere between sedimentary rock and common house plant…and I don’t think I’ve done a pull on push up since the Presidential Physical Fitness Test in Elementary School. How hard could it be?  Right?

Check back next Saturday for my account of week 1!

Leave a Reply

