REVIEW | Clarins Eye Contour Balm

Clarins-Eye-Contour-Balm-logo

First things first:  Clarins Eye Contour Balm is not what I consider to be a balm.  When I think balm, I think salve or (in icky terms) ointment.   Thankfully, this is a balm in name only, and wears like a traditional eye cream and has the consistency of a lotion.

I’ve been using this twice a day for about a month and a half now, and I have some thoughts:

Formula: According to the box:

“Chicory extract revitalizes and hydrates the eye contour to reduce the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles.”

“Shea butter nourishes and soothes to restore skin suppleness and softness.”

Packaging: Loving that it’s in a tube and not in a jar.  Creams in jars get germ-y quickly, and I always end up scooping out too much product at once.

Results: Unfortunately, I haven’t noticed the softening of fine lines that the box promises.  Prior to picking up this eye cream, I was using Avène’s Ysthéal + Eye Contour Cream Gel, which contained Retinaldehyde, a minimally irritating form of vitamin A.  That cream absolutely smoothed the fine lines around my eyes, but was a bit much to wear day and night.  I feel like Clarins Eye Contour Balm would make a great day eye cream paired with a more intense treatment cream at night.  It’s super hydrating and serves as a great base for my eye primer/makeup, but not super effective (thus far) as my fine line treatment.

Bonus:  Smells LOVELY.  Clean with hints of floral notes.  Definitely makes it feel very luxe.

Cost:  $35  (I purchased my tube from Sephora)

Overall:  I am a HUGE fan of Clarins Multi-Active Night Youth Recovery Cream, and the Courtin-Clarins cousins in general.  I mean, their SKIN is FLAWLESS.  BUT chicory < retinol.  Great for hydration, not enough for me as a treatment.

as shot by Norman Jean Roy in the August 2011 issue of Vogue

as shot by Norman Jean Roy in the August 2011 issue of Vogue

Leave a Reply

