The Complete Novice’s Guide to the Hamptons

Now, I am no Hamptons aficionado, but we absolutely ate & shopped well during our brief stay.  Here are a few of the highlights…

SHOPPING

BOND NO. 9

The perfumista at Bond No. 9’s Sag Harbor location was incredibly knowledgeable and warm.  With a few simple questions, she’s able to lead shoppers to the scent of their dreams.  Fittingly, the fragrance of my dreams happened to be named for the neighborhood I was visiting:  Sag Harbor.

Bond-No-9-Sag-Harbor

What makes Bond No. 9 fragrances unique?  Their staying power.  Made predominately from essential oils, these scents LAST.  I’ve been wearing my samples of Sag Harbor all week, and I can still smell the fragrance on my skin and my clothes long after my 7am application.  But that’s not to say the fragrance itself is overpowering! It just stays put where you spray it.  At $180 for 50ml, it’s an investment to say the least, but when I think of the money I pour into bottles of perfume with a fraction of the staying power…might be worth the money.

COLLETTE DESIGNER CONSIGNMENT    |   SOUTHAMPTON

I love a consignment store, especially when it’s a DESIGNER consignment store.  My favorite game to play?  Name the designer BEFORE looking at the label.  Here are a few of the gorgeous pieces we spotted while shopping the Southampton outpost:

An entire rack of Chanel!

An entire rack of Chanel!

Vintage Louboutin wedges.

Vintage Louboutin wedges.

Scarves!

Scarves!

Unfortunately, I don’t have the bank account to support any sort of Chanel-based purchase (even of the consignment persuasion), but I loved to look!

BLOOMING SHELLS   |   SAG HARBOR

If you are running low on decorative coral, sea shells, or bugs-in-glass, Blooming Shells is your one-stop shop.  Seriously though, such a unique boutique chock full of curiosities.  Definitely worth a wander!

Blooming-Shells-5

Blooming-Shells-4

Blooming-Shells-2

JOHN STUART   

Photographer John Stuart had a booth at Sag Harbor Fest, and I was *this close* to purchasing a piece.  He has a phenomenal eye! Here’s a link to the piece I almost purchased.  Gah, he’s talented.  Luckily, he has a gallery on Varick Street, and I will absolutely be visiting.

DINING

THE VILLAGE GOURMET CHEESE SHOPPE  |  SOUTHAMPTON

In addition to featuring a dizzying array of cheese, The Village Gourmet Cheese Shop is an adorable gourmet market/sandwich shop hybrid. Many of the sandwiches are named after different parts of the world and feature regionally-specific ingredients.  I had a Croque Monsieur with surprisingly spicy Dijon mustard that brought me right back to the markets of Paris. The menu features plenty of healthy options and super fresh ingredients, and the space itself has ample indoor and outdoor seating.  Great lunch spot!

IL CAPUCCINO   |  SAG HARBOR

Now, if you want a table at Il Capuccino, according to the locals, you have two options: 1) queue up at 5:15 or 2) round up a party of 4 or more and make a reservation a few days in advance.  This place was PACKED by 6pm (due to Liz’s looming triathlon, we were carb-loading on early-bird-special time).  After ordering our appetizer, I could see why:  the garlic knots.  They are incredible.  Hands down the best garlic knots I have ever eaten in my 30 years of consuming all things garlic-related.

garlic-knot

In addition to gorging myself on garlic knots, I had a really fabulous organic Malbec, and the Tortelli D’Erbetta, a “homemade, cheese & spinach-filled pasta, baked w/butter & parmigiano cheese.”  PHENOMENAL.  One of the best Italian dishes I’ve ever had.

THE CUDDY   |   SAG HARBOR

Liz and I grabbed a post-tri brunch here, and were lucky enough to score a table on the front porch.  What a charming view!

View-from-The-Cuddy

I had a delicious French Toast and a glass of fresh-squeezed orange juice.  The brunch menu was solid, but there was no egg-meat-homefries option (??), which is pretty much a brunch staple.  Liz had the mushroom omelet, with an actual side salad (as opposed to a pile of overly-dressed greens), which was refreshing.  I’d love to try their dinner menu sometime…

What are your favorite places in the Hamptons?  I’d love to hear from you in the comments!

2 thoughts on “The Complete Novice’s Guide to the Hamptons

Leave a Reply

