REVIEW | Ole Henriksen African Red Tea Foaming Cleanser & Face Mist

photo (3)

My newfound skincare obsession:  Ole Henriksen’s African Red Tea line.  Here’s how I came upon Ole Henriksen:  One of my all-time favorite bloggers, the now-retired By Celina, and I, from what I gather, have very similar skincare concerns.  We both have issues with acne on top of the desire to fight the early signs of aging.  When she posted months ago about the impact Ole Henriksen’s products had on her skin, I knew I had to give them a try…and after using them religiously for a few months, I am HOOKED.

Ole Henriksen African Red Tea Foaming Cleanser ($30)

What it’s got: (from the Sephora website)

  • African Red Tea: Strengthens the skin’s outer layer, slows the aging process, and calms and soothes the skin.
  • Borage Seed Oil: Moisturizes and nourishes; contains anti-inflammatory properties.
  • Vitamin C: Supports natural collagen synthesis; brightens and fights environmental damage.
  • Grapefruit, Orange, and Tangerine Extracts: Purify, exfoliate, and brighten with natural antiseptic and aromatic qualities.

What it doesn’t:

  • parabens
  • sulfates
  • phthalates

One pump goes a long way, and it took me three months of twice daily use to go through one 7oz bottle.

photo (2)

Ole Henriksen African Red Tea Face Mist ($28)

What it’s got:  (info via the Ole Henriksen website)

  • African red tea: Strengthens the skin’s outer layer, slows the aging process, calms and soothes the skin
  • Mandarin, orange and tangerine extracts: Purifies and brightens with astringent, antiseptic and aromatic qualities
  • Panthenol: Hydrates and nourishes with pro-vitamin B5
  • Pomegranate: Stabilizes free radicals with polyphenols

What it doesn’t:

  • parabens

From Dr. Murad’s book, The Water Secret, we know that using toner after washing is crucial in restoring the skin to natural pH levels.  This face mist does the trick, all while smelling wonderful and leaving my skin feeling super refreshed and my pores feeling tight and clear.

Overall: I *just* ran out of the face mist and have about a week’s worth of the foaming cleanser left, and I will absolutely be repurchasing.

Leave a comment