REVIEW | Eyeshadow Primer Showdown

I am an eye makeup devotee.  I simply refuse to leave the house without AT THE BARE MINIMUM mascara, and I love playing up my eyes when headed out on the town with my girls.  That said, I also like to be pretty low-maitenance during the day.  I’m not the girl who likes to haul around a bulky makeup bag (I’ll do it, if necessary, but I don’t like it) and I really like to invest in products that I can apply once in the morning and last all day, so an effective eyeshadow primer is a MUST and a staple of my daily makeup routine.

Recently, I received a sample of NARS Smudge Proof Eyeshadow Base and decided to swap it with my usual Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion for a few days to see how it performed…

Eyeshadow.Primer.Showdown…and the results were…disappointing.

When I use Urban Decay’s Eyeshadow Primer Potion, I apply my eyeshadow at 6am before I head off to work, and my eyeshadow DOES NOT MOVE all day, regardless of the brand of eyeshadow I wear over it.  If I’m headed out in the evening, sometimes I’ll opt to touch it up a bit, but I usually get a good 10-12 hours of wear out of one application, which is pretty awesome.

I’ve been wearing the NARS Smudge Proof Eyeshadow Base for the past two days, and here was the result: (pardon my unruly eyebrows and the grainy-camera-phone selfie)

creases

Monday, I applied my makeup around 6:30, and my eyeshadow had already started creasing by 11:30am (hence the bathroom selfie).  NOT CHIC.  And I was wearing a NARS brand shadow.  One would think they’d play well together.  Apparently not.  Sunday’s results were not much better, which is disappointing considering the NARS primer retails for $4 more than the Urban Decay version, and also offers less product for your money (only .26 oz versus Urban Decay’s .37 oz).  

Bottom line:  in the battle of the eyeshadow primers, Urban Decay’s Eyeshadow Primer Potion wins, hands down.

One thought on “REVIEW | Eyeshadow Primer Showdown

Leave a Reply

