Cheap Thrills | John Frieda Luxurious Volume Root Booster Blow Dry Lotion

photo (11)

Usually, when I see the phrase “luxurious” on ANYTHING I can purchase at Rite Aide, it gives me pause.  I mean, seriously???  Cartier is luxurious.  Anything La Prairie is luxurious.  I’m pretty sure the hair care aisle of the local drugstore is the diametric opposite of luxurious. In fact, drug stores are a necessary evil that rank somewhere between dentist appointment and the DMV:  when I have to go, I want to get in and get out with the least amount of hassle, pain and human interaction possible.  So when I came across John Frieda’s Luxurious Volume Root Booster Blow Dry Lotion I would have walked right on by and cried hyperbole, if not for the coveted 2012 Allure Reader’s Choice Award.

After a week of daily use, I’m ready to render my verdict:

Luxurious?  No.

Effective?  Absolutely.

This little bottle of liquid oomph works just as well as its $25-$30 salon brand cousins, and at $7 a bottle, I don’t mind generously going to town on my roots on the daily. It doesn’t dry sticky, and has a nice, fresh, light scent.  I can absolutely see this volumizing spray taking up permanent residence in my beauty routine.

Leave a Reply

