2013 | My Year in Books

I typically read between 40-50 books a year, and had set an ambitious goal for myself of reading 75 books in 2013. That did not happen.  Well, there’s always next year…
Some highlights:
~ I reread Anna Karenina and I really enjoyed the Pevear/Volokhonsky translation.
~ I also reread Madame Bovary, translated by the incomporable Lydia Davis.
~ I discovered the work of Ramona Ausubel and Karin Tidbeck.
Some goals for 2014:
~ I’m resetting my reading goal at 75 books. This year, I will be victorious!  Or at least come a touch closer!
~ I want to read Middlemarch.  It’s been on my “to-read” list for wayyyyyy too long.
~ I want to read the work of at least 10 authors I’ve never read before.
~ I want to read a book by an author from 6 of the 7 continents (I can’t imagine there are notable Antarctic authors…if so, I’ll absolutely add them to the list!!).  My goal:  to read the work of authors from at least 20 different countries.
What are your reading goals for 2014?  Share in the comments!!
2013: My Year in Books

Smut Stories
strandbooks.com

House of Leaves
strandbooks.com

Underground
amazon.com

Into the Wild
strandbooks.com

The Dud Avocado
strandbooks.com

A Guide to Being Born
strandbooks.com

Three Strong Women
strandbooks.com

After the Quake
strandbooks.com

Jagannath
amazon.com

The Last Nude
strandbooks.com

2 thoughts on “2013 | My Year in Books

Leave a Reply

