Milan Fashion Week Fall/Winter 2014 | Runway Highlights | Giorgio Armani, Red Valentino, and Stella Jean

Giorgio Armani

Oh, Armani.  I now understand why Anna Wintour decided to sit this one out.  I was a bit underwhelmed with this collection, and I am usually a FAN of Armani’s aesthetic.  I think it was the bizarre electric sea green accents that permeated the collection. When the hue was more mottled and muted, it worked beautifully with the grey…but when it was styled with the more neon shade…it just didn’t speak my language.  I did appreciate the updated suit jackets, the ombre grey coat, and the textured blazers.

image via Style.com

image via Style.com

image via Style.com

image via Style.com

image via Style.com

image via Style.com

image via Style.com

image via Style.com

Red Valentino

There was a glaringly obvious Snow White through-line to this collection, which didn’t really speak to me.  I’m not one of those Disney people.  Maybe that means I have no soul.  Who knows.  I mean, I enjoyed the movies as a child, but nothing irks me more than seeing a grown adult in Disney character apparel.  So the Roy Lichtenstein/Snow White mash-up doesn’t really speak to me.  It just felt too obvious and too kitchy.  There were very few pieces that I could see myself wearing:  the blue plaid coat, the red cropped sweater, and the blue/black striped blouse.  Other than that, it was a miss for me.

image via Style.com

image via Style.com

image via Style.com

image via Style.com

image via Style.com

image via Style.com

Stella Jean

To be honest, I found the styling of this collection a bit overwhelming.  Personally, I cannot pull off that many patterns at once.  That said, when looking at each garment individually, there are some gorgeous pieces.  I loved the sweater coats, the bold patterned dresses, and the soft plaid coats.

image via Style.com

image via Style.com

image via Style.com

image via Style.com

image via Style.com

image via Style.com

image via Style.com

image via Style.com

image via Style.com

image via Style.com

Leave a Reply

