Hits and Misses from the Oscars Red Carpet

The mother of all red carpets was last night:  THE OSCARS.  And you know I have FEELINGS.  So many FEELINGS.

Sidebar:  did anyone else notice that Pharrell’s Vivienne Westwood hat made an encore during his performance???

I was generally very impressed by the gown choices this year.  There were lots of blue moments, lots of white moments (feeling the PSU love!), lots of gorgeous metallics…

A thousand times YES!

Jennifer Lawrence

image by Jason Merritt/Getty Images

image by Jason Merritt/Getty Images

Two words:  understated elegance.  I am so loving Jennifer in this color and cut.  She looks vibrant and happy and graceful…perfection.

Naomi Watts

image by Steve Granitz/WireImages

image by Steve Granitz/WireImages

It is hard to go wrong in Calvin Klein, and Naomi looks FLAWLESS.  That dress!  The necklace!  The makeup!  That clutch!  EVERYTHING is WORKING!

Olivia Wilde

image by Steve Granitz/WireImages

image by Steve Granitz/WireImages

I am LOVING Olivia Wilde’s pregnancy chic this award season. She looks so damn elegant here!  I was really digging the hint of white at the back of the dress, and she is styled flawlessly.

Jenna Dewan

image by Robyn Beck/AFP/Getty Images

image by Robyn Beck/AFP/Getty Images

If I ever get married, I want my wedding dress to look like this.  Jenna is rocking the perfect Oscar gown, and it doesn’t look bridal on her at all, which is always the danger of wearing white.  So elegant and so chic.

Sara Ishaq

image by Frederic J Brown/AFP/Getty Images

image by Frederic J Brown/AFP/Getty Images

Filmmakers don’t get nearly enough red carpet love, but I ADORE Sara in this gown.  It reminds me of a Carmen Marc Valvo dress I owned for a hot minute ages ago.  The brocade is super elegant, the cut super classic.  Sara just embodies elegance.  Love it.

Lupita Nyong’o

image by Robyn Beck/AFP/Getty Images

image by Robyn Beck/AFP/Getty Images

Lupita is killing it this award season.  KILLING IT.  Congrats to her on her much deserved Oscar! Her speech made me tear up, not gonna lie…

Portia de Rossi

image by Frederic J Brown/AFP/Getty Images

image by Frederic J Brown/AFP/Getty Images

Love this Naeem Khan gown.  Before watching Sean and Catherine’s Bachelor wedding, I had never heard the term “grown sexy,” but I feel like Portia’s look epitomizes it.  It’s elegant, a bit nude without being NAKED, and subtly sexy.  Loving it.

Almost…if I’m being picky…

Kristin Chenoweth

image by Robyn Beck/AFP/Getty Images

image by Robyn Beck/AFP/Getty Images

This is hands-down the best Kristin has looked this award season.  I love her in gold.  The only thing I wasn’t super sold on was the structured neckline of the bodice.  It almost seemed to wear her from certain angles.  Overall though, her makeup and hair was spot on!  She had a glow to her I haven’t seen in ages.  Well done!

Kristen Bell

image by Robyn Beck/AFP/Getty Images

image by Robyn Beck/AFP/Getty Images

Now I’m just being picky:  it’s the structured neckline.  I’m just not feeling it. But I LOVE the rest of the gown.  It’s absolutely an Oscar gown.  And I love how Kristen just went for a messy bun and let the dress do the talking.  Picky.  I told you.

Emma Watson

image by Steve Granitz/Wireimage

image by Steve Granitz/Wireimage

I LOVE Emma in this dress…it just isn’t Oscar-worthy.  The fabric…the way it almost looks belted at the waist…the ponytail…it reads more “after party” than “ceremony.”  Otherwise, Emma looks amazing!  Just dressed for the wrong event.

Amy Adams

image by Robyn Beck/AFP/Getty Images

image by Robyn Beck/AFP/Getty Images

There was nothing wrong with Amy’s look.  She looked beautiful.  The dress was super flattering.  I guess I just expected more.  She’s had a navy red carpet moment and given what she’s worn this past season, I guess I was expecting a bit more drama.

Sandra Bullock

image by Steve Granitz/WireImage

image by Steve Granitz/WireImage

Now, I’ve been rough on Sandra this award season.  With cause.  But last night, Sandra looked lovely, but she played it almost too safe.  I’m being picky.  I know.  The gown was beautiful.  The cut was beautiful. The hair and makeup were flawless.  It was just a little too safe for me. I would have liked to have seen her in something with a bit more drama.

Kate Hudson

Now, I loved the dress from this angle:

image by Jason Merritt/Getty Images

image by Jason Merritt/Getty Images

…but in this light, the fabric looks cheap.

image by Kevin Mazur/WireImages

image by Kevin Mazur/WireImages

I wasn’t crazy about the way it looked on TV, either.  Kate Hudson, on the other hand, looked PHENOMENAL, per usual.

Jessica Biel

image by Jason Merritt/Getty Images

image by Jason Merritt/Getty Images

This gown photographs beautifully and hugs Jessica in all the right places.  That said, the beaded detail read very blue on TV, which gave the dress this odd pattern that looked like it belonged on a pair of drapes and not on the red carpet.  But here, it looks like a gentle, understated shimmer.  I’m torn.

Not quite…

Cate Blanchett

image by Kevork-Djansezian/Getty Images

image by Kevork-Djansezian/Getty Images

This is the best I’ve seen her look all award season, but I’m still not completely in love with the dress.  I love her in a nude…I guess I’m just not a fan of that style of beading.  The hair and the makeup, on the other hand, are flawless.

Kerry Washington

image by Jason Merritt/Getty Images

image by Jason Merritt/Getty Images

Love the shoes.  Wish she had chosen to get dressed, instead of wrapping a bedsheet around her and securing it with a sparkly brooch.  I mean, I know she’s pregnant, but come on.

Anna Kendrick

image by Robyn Beck/AFP/Getty Images

image by Robyn Beck/AFP/Getty Images

Love the top, love the back, but there are two distinct dresses happening here…the midsection does not go with the amazing top and bottom.  Not an Anna Kendrick fail (she couldn’t look bad if she tried), but not the best dress for her.

Anne Hathaway

image by Robyn Beck/AFP/Getty Images

image by Robyn Beck/AFP/Getty Images

I had two problems with this dress.  One:  it seemed a little dated.  Two:  it wasn’t event appropriate.  This is the Oscars.  Not the after party.  Anne can and has done better.

Jennifer Garner

image by Jason Merritt/Getty Images

image by Jason Merritt/Getty Images

That fringe.  Those shoes.  This is the Oscars. Not a Gatsby-themed costume party. You’re married to Ben freakin’ Affleck.  You’ve been to enough of these awards shows to KNOW BETTER.

Oh dear God NO!

Liza Minnelli

image by Jordan Strauss/Invision/AP

image by Jordan Strauss/Invision/AP

Granted, this is Liza freakin’ Minnelli.  She can wear whatever the eff she wants.  Personally, I wouldn’t have encouraged her decision to wear Smurf blue, but that’s just me.

Ok.  Your turn.  Who was the best dressed?  Who wasn’t on their game?  Let me know in the comments!

One thought on “Hits and Misses from the Oscars Red Carpet

  1. Pingback: Hits and Misses from the 2014 Met Gala Red Carpet | wine and a book

Leave a Reply

