Hits and Misses from the Vanity Fair Oscar Party

After the Oscars, there’s the Vanity Fair Oscar Party, where those not invited to the ceremony get to celebrate with the winners and nominees get to drown their sorrows in yet another fabulous gown.

Here are a few of my favorite (and not so favorite) looks…

LOVE. LOVE. LOVE.

Jennifer Lawrence

image via The Cut

image via The Cut

I am a bit obsessed with this dress.  Super classy.  Super chic.

Karlie Kloss

image via The Cut

image via The Cut

No one does peek-a-booty like Karlie Kloss.

Taylor Swift

image via The Cut

image via The Cut

Of course, count on Taylor Swift to have another flawless red carpet moment.  Emma Watson, take note:  THIS was the appropriate time to wear that fabric.

Naomi Harris

image via The Cut

image via The Cut

I really love this dress on Naomi.  The pattern is gorgeous, the fit is flawless, the color is super flattering.  Well done.

Rashida Jones

image via The Cut

image via The Cut

This dress is SO RASHIDA JONES, and it was styled to perfection (the makeup! the hair! the jewelry!).  I couldn’t pull it off, but Rashida looks like the most lovely version of herself.  Obsessed.

Carolina Herrera

image via The Cut

image via The Cut

Flawless.  Iconic.

Evan Rachel Wood

image via The Cut

image via The Cut

GAH!  She looks so ethereal.  Love this color on Evan Rachel Wood.  So flattering and I really dig the gradual ombre of the sparkle.

Jamie King

image via The Cut

image via The Cut

The more I look at this dress, the more I like it.  I have a feeling if I saw it on the rack, I wouldn’t give it a second glance.  But Jamie is WEARING it.  The color is beautiful on her, and I am pleasantly surprised by how much I like the draping and accents.  Well done.

Almost…

Leslie Mann

image via The Cut

image via The Cut

I feel like this dress is about a foot too long.  From the neck to the knee, it reads like a cute, springy cocktail dress.  The fabric,

Allison Williams

image via The Cut

image via The Cut

I love everything about this look but the hair.  It just looks awkward.  Allison is KILLING IT in the dress (she always looks super classy, though), but the severe side part?  The dress is so simple and sophisticated, I would have preferred to see her hair pulled straight back into a topknot, or parted in the middle and pulled back into a low bun.  The hair just felt off to me.

Sienna Miller

image via The Cut

image via The Cut

The cardinal rule in dressing:  after you’ve accessorized, go back and take one accessory off to avoid going overboard.  This many bracelets reads very “Princess Leia Slave costume” and not very “Oscars,” especially with the belt. Sometimes more isn’t more, it’s too much.

Gabrielle Union

image via The Cut

image via The Cut

Loving the dress, confused by the hair.

Sky Ferreira

image via The Cut

image via The Cut

Enjoying this color on Sky, but the hair wasn’t really working for me.  It seemed too undone (i.e. all the things that piss me off about Kristen Stewart) and overall, she seemed under-accessorized.  She and Sienna Miller should have had a meeting of the minds and worked something out.

Aubrey Plaza

image via The Cut

image via The Cut

I loved this dress from the knees up…but the ruffles just didn’t seem to belong.  That said, I LOVED seeing Aubrey all glammed up!

Should have worn THIS to the ceremony:

Anne Hathaway

image via The Cut

image via The Cut

This dress is so much more flattering to Anne’s spectacular figure.  Her ceremony gown gave her a bad case of saggy boob.

Amy Adams

image via The Cut

image via The Cut

I love it when a celeb can wear white without looking like a bride.  Amy looks like a goddess, and I *wish* she had worn this to the ceremony.  She would have just GLOWED on the carpet.

Kristen Bell

image via The Cut

image via The Cut

I am digging this neckline on Kristen much more than the super-constructed bodice of the dress she wore to the ceremony.  Plus, this dress just seems more HER.

Jada Pinkett Smith

image via The Cut

image via The Cut

Jada wore the hell out of coral at the ceremony, but the cut/fabric of the gown wasn’t my favorite.  I LOVE her in this elegant nude beaded dress.  It hits her in all the right places, and the first thing I see is HER and not THE DRESS.

Kate Hudson

image via The Cut

image via The Cut

I love this dress on Kate.  I wasn’t crazy about the white fabric of the gown she wore to the Oscars, and I think she would have really stood out on the red carpet in this.

Chrissy Teigen

image via The Cut

image via The Cut

I know this dress doesn’t have pockets, but Chrissy is just owning it here.  I understand why she didn’t wear it to the ceremony (it is a bit sexy for the Oscars), but this gown feels more her than the other.

Most Improved

image via The Cut

image via The Cut

Heidi has been hit or miss (mostly miss) this awards season, so I was happy she jumped on the Gatsby bandwagon and chose an art-deco inspired gown for the Vanity Fair party.  She looks lovely.

Not exactly dressed to impress

Brooklyn Decker

image via The Cut

image via The Cut

I think Brooklyn looks great…if she were headed out to dinner with her girlfriends.  IF the jacket had a deeper neckline or if the pants were cut differently…it doesn’t have enough drama to merit wearing for the occasion.

Diane Kruger

image via The Cut

image via The Cut

Now, this dress has a bit too much drama for the occasion.  Can we call this a dress?  I looks like someone took the extra Spanish lace from the last Dolce & Gabbana campaign and strategically draped it over Diane.  She couldn’t look bad if she tried…I just feel like it isn’t the right place for this piece.

Nope. Nope. Nope.

Rosie Huntington-Whiteley

image via The Cut

image via The Cut

Wait, are those pearls?  Does that dress have an actual sewn-in pearl necklace?  Was the theme of this party “pretend it’s 1980 and dress as your favorite sexual euphamism?”  Because only if the answer to all those questions is YES does this dress make sense.

Olivia Munn

image via The Cut

image via The Cut

Another Princess Leia slave costume moment.  I know you’ve got a killer figure, Olivia, but is it necessary to emphasize it so flagrantly? Minus the bejeweled bodice breast-emphasis device, the dress is lovely.

Reese Witherspoon

image via The Cut

image via The Cut

So, Reese is wearing 2/3 of one dress and 1/4 of another?  Why?

Elizabeth Moss

image via The Cut

image via The Cut

If that weren’t a bra and were lined to the waist, I wouldn’t hate this. It just doesn’t feel finished to me.

Leave a Reply

